Thursday, 05 March 2015

This year’s President’s Luncheon was held on Thursday 5th March in the wonderful surroundings of the Library at The Travellers Club, hosted here for the second year running. The Club was founded, in 1819, 'for gentlemen who had travelled out of the British Isles to a distance of at least five hundred miles from London in a direct line'.

 Our host, Sir John Chilcot (Ha./Sc. 1952-57), warmly welcomed many familiar faces and a few newbies who we hope enjoyed our company as much as we enjoyed theirs. Alan Bird, Deputy Head delivered a jovial and interesting speech about current College news, including the approaching opening of Brighton College Bangkok in September 2016. Our former host and founder of this event Peter Miller (Ch. 1945-49) was unfortunately not able to join us on this occasion. He was very much missed and we look forward to seeing him at our 1845 Society Luncheon in April.

Assembled guests very much enjoyed the great spirit in the room and a delicious lunch in very good company, it really was a delightful afternoon.

Many thanks to all those who attended.

In attendance:


Old Brightonians President Sir John Chilcot (Hampden/School 1952-1957)

Clive Nicholls (Chichester 1946-1950)
Colin Nicholls (Chichester 1946-1950)
Derek Jones (Chichester 1945-1951)
Leonard Rea (Hampden/Chichester 1946-1951)
Peter Best (Aldrich 1951-1954)
Graham Mason (Leconfield 1948-1954)
David Nelson-Smith (Hampden 1949-1955)
Anthony Bennett (School 1952-1956)
Tim Loadsman (Leconfield 1951-1957)
Graham Appleton (Durnford 1953-1957)
John Chilcot (Hampden/School 1952-1957)
Stephen Cockburn (Leconfield/School 1953-1958)
Tony Merrifield (Hampden 1953-1958)
Malcolm Paris (Aldrich 1954-1958)
Tom Salmons (Leconfield 1957-1961)
Logan Taylor (Hampden 1957-1962)
Michael Bishop (Chichester 1960-1965)
David Wagg (Aldrich 1965-1969)
John Polsue (Bristol 1965-1969)
Paul Samrah (Leconfield 1972-1977)
John Bushell (Leconfield 1978-1983)
Jason Sugarman (Ryle 1982-1987)
Nicholas Woodbridge (School 1995-2000)

Brighton College
Alan Bird – Deputy Headmaster
Matthew Jamieson – Director of Boarding
Rebecca Findlay – Old Brightonians
Angelina Papadopoulos – Development Assistant

Richard Batt (Hampden 1936-1940)
Edward Batt (Hampden 1939-1944)
Chris Apps (Hampden/Aldrich 1942-1946)
Eric Womersley (Chichester 1943-1947)
John Crosthwaite (Hampden 1946-1949)
Peter Miller (Chichester 1945-1949)
Bob Rowland (Bristol 1943-1949)
Peter Dingemans (Durnford 1948-1952)
Gordon Smith (Bristol 1946-1952)
Timothy Bavin (Chichester 1949-1954)
Richard Buxton (Leconfield/Bristol 1950-1956)
Jeremy Miles (Chichester 1951-1956)
Robert Skidelsky (Chichester 1953-1958)
Derek Pickering (Leconfield 1949-1958)
Andrew Symonds (Aldrich 1955-1959)
Chris Davison (Aldrich/Bristol 1953-1959)
Ian Dodd (Hampden 1955-1960)
Rodney Langridge (Aldrich 1953-1961)
Rodney Fox (Hampden 1955-1961)
Ian White (Hampden/Chichester 1956-1962)
Peter Cockburn (School 1959-1964)
Gavin Henderson (Leconfield 1960-1965)
David Peerless (Hampden 1960-1965)
Timothy Corbett (Bristol 1962-1966)
Hugh Elphick (Aldrich 1960-1966)
David Keeling (Hampden 1961-1966)
Christopher Pett (Hampden 1962-1967)
Richard Brightwell (Aldrich 1970-1975)
James Brenan (School 1972-1977)
Mark Green (Aldrich 1973-1978)
Fiona Aiken (Fenwick 1979-1981)
John Aiken (Aldrich 1976-1981)
Julian Hunt (Durnford 1984-1987)
David Gold (School 1986-1991)
John Leach (Head Master, Brighton College 1987-1997)
Simon Smith (Brighton College Common Room 1973-2011)
Ian McIntyre - Director of Education & Deputy CEO BCIS
Mrs. Ann Titcomb
Mr. Geoffrey Miller
Mrs. Janet Carter
Mr. Chris Bidwell

Contact Us

Brighton College
Eastern Road
Brighton, BN2 0AL
+44 (0) 1273 704 250
Registered Charity Number: 307061