Once again the sun shone on the Diamond Jubilee Pavilion as the Head Master welcomed some 100 donors and supporters of the project to enjoy an afternoon of sport, on Saturday 8th September, at the recently re-named Jubilee Ground. Some had not visited the ground at East Brighton Park for many years – 72 years in the case of Old Brightonian Richard Batt (H 1936-40), who joined the College shortly after the school acquired the playing fields in 1926. Others were more recent and frequent spectators, being current parents at the school, and some admitted that their donations were made from 'enlightened self-interest' as they celebrated the fact that the Diamond Jubilee Pavilion would afford some welcome shelter from the elements on rather less glorious days!
Only two years after we unveiled the plans for the building, and little over six months since Daley Thompson 'broke ground' on a freezing February day, the new pavilion welcomed its first spectators who greeted the new facilities with universal approval. Particularly admired were the café-bar area with panoramic views across all the pitches and up to the South Downs, and the changing and teaching rooms, which are decorated in Brighton College colours.
The new building is testament to the combined fundraising efforts of pupils, parents, staff and Old Brightonians, who together raised half of the funds required, and the Head Master expressed his thanks to all who have supported the project. The names of Friends, Patrons and Benefactors are recorded on a board in the foyer of the building.