The 1981 leavers reunion, with Mr & Mrs William Blackshaw (HM. 1971-87), Tony Whitestone (staff, 1971-2006), Simon Smith (Deputy HM), and Philip Robinson (Director of Studies) at the OBA Annual Dinner 2006
Written by John Aiken (A. 1976-81)
Saturday, 25 November 2006

What an evening! If you don't believe me then just take a look the ‘photos on this website, you will see plenty of animated smiling faces which, for me, sums up the purpose of events like this. Mind you with a combination of Ann Widdecombe as guest speaker, over 150 guests and a large contingent of 1981’ers what more could one expect?

The evening opened with drinks in the Burstow Gallery with the added bonus of an opportunity to meet Ann Widdecombe and buy one of her signed books. This proved to be very popular and Ms.Widdecombe has kindly donated profits from the sales of her books on the evening to the OBA. We then moved through to the Great Hall and enjoyed a meal and the opportunity to catch up with old friends. Having shared several anecdotes and exchanged the standard pleasantry of ‘’Good Lord you haven’t changed a bit’’ ,although I do suspect our eyesight has!, we were treated to speeches from Richard Cairns, David Gold, Ann Widdecombe and Adrian Underwood (Head Boy 1981). I have to say Ann Widdecombe stole the show for me, having looked after her earlier in the evening I had already had a small insight into what an intelligent and witty woman she is. This part of the evening then closed with a presentation from our President to Tony Whitestone on the occasion of his retirement, as one would expect Tony’s response was witty but also very moving and Tony summed up in his speech his affection for Brighton College.

The evening was a great success and gave me the opportunity to meet up with old friends, members of staff (most notably Bill & Elizabeth Blackshaw, Simon Smith, Tony Whitestone and Philip Robinson). The mix of Brightonians (old and new), staff and parents guarantees the success of events like this and so, if you have not attended an OBA event before make sure you do in the future.

Guest of the Association, Tony Whitestone (staff, 1971-2006) writes:

"I would very much like to thank the Association for the warmth of the reception you gave me at the annual dinner in November, as well as for the generous gift of an inscribed silver wine coaster. Whenever I use it in the future, which will be often, I hope, I will be reminded of the splendid OB dinner, the many other OB functions I have had the pleasure of attending and, of course, the very many of you I have known over my years at the College. With many thanks and best wishes to the Old Brightonian Association."

Attendees included:
(updated: 18th September 2006)
Rt Hon Ann Widdicombe, Guest of Honour
Mr Richard Cairns, Headmaster
Mr David Gold (S. 1986-91), President and Mr Mark Elliott
Simon Smith, staff - guest
Father Robert Easton (staff)
Tony Whitestone, staff, 1971-2006 - guest
Mr & Mrs William Blackshaw (HM. 1971-87)
Mr & Mrs John Leach (HM. 1987-97)
Mr David Hollinshead & 3 guests
Joyce Heater (Archivist) - guest
Mr & Mrs Della Keighley
Mr Richard Brightwell (A. 1970-75)
Mr & Mrs Peter & Mary Rumney (H. 1937-39)
Mr Chris Apps (H/A. 1942-46) - 2 tables of 10 guests
Mr Keith Hawkins (S. 1944-47)
Mr & Mrs Peter Bowles (A. 1945-50)
Mr & Mrs David & Joyce Nelson-Smith (H. 1949-55)
Mr David Hurst (H. 1951-56) and 3 guests
David Blake(B. 1952-56)
Tim Loadsman (L. 1951-57)
Mr Stephen Cockburn (S. 1953-58)
Mr & Mrs Ian Howard-Harwood (D. 1955-58)
Andrew & Iris Symonds (A. 1955-59)
Mr Michael Bishop (C. 1960-65)
Graham Leathes (A. 1962-67)
David Galpin (A. 1963-67)
Colin Bell (L. 1964-68)
Andrew Connal (A. 1964-68)
Jeremy Dutton (A. 1964-69)
Jim Ireson (L. 1964-69) - table of 10
Mark Gourley (C. 1965-70)
Mr John Polsue (B. 1965-69) and 5 guests
Mr Graham Steer (H. 1973-77)
Mr John (A. 1976-81) and Mrs Fiona Aiken (F. 1979-81)
Guy Batchelor (A. 1976-79)
Mr Robert Fryzer (D. 1974-79) & Miss Sue Windsor
David Hatley (H. 1974-79)
Mr Terry Mower (A. 1974-79)
Mark Beales (B. 1976-81)
Mr & Mrs Michael Browne (L. 1976-81)
Steve Dugard (L. 1976-81)
Mrs Magda Field (nee Popiel, F. 1979-81)
Ed Flude (A. 1976-81)
Mrs Nicky Hester (nee Hallett, F. 1979-81)
Mr & Mrs Ross & Liz Jameson (1981 reunion)
Mark Katz (L. 1976-81)
Paul Lobo (C. 1976-81)
Lou Macari (L. 1976-81)
Doug Murray (H. 1976-81)
Chris Ramsey (H. 1976-81)
Mark & Mel Simmonds (A. 1976-81)
Adam Style (L. 1976-81)
Mr & Mrs David Thompson (A. 1976-81)
Mr Adrian Underwood (A. 1976-81)
Chris Williams (H. 1976-81)
Mr Richard Winsor & guest (S. 1976-81)
Julian & Alison Withers (H. 1976-81)
Chris Ridge (R. 1977-81)
Penny Lloyd, nee Allen (F. 1979-81)
Paul & Angela Birch (B. 1979-81)
Marina Brand, nee Stewart (F. 1979-81)
Miss Jane Haviland (F. 1979-81)
Mr & Mrs Bolaji Odunsi (C. 1979-81)
Joey Appleton (D. 1979-84) and Mrs Angelica Appleton
Alex Bremer (R. 1979-83)
Carrie England (F. 1982-84) and Justine Tate
Ben Stott (R. 1979-84)
Mr Dear and Mrs Emma Dear (F. 1987-89)
Mr & Mrs Leo McKeague (S. 1988-91)
Mr Chris Poon (A. 1999-04)
Mr & Mrs Parker (parents)
Mr & Mrs Tyler (parents)
Mr & Mrs Rose-Fyne (parents)
Mr & Mrs Truscott (parents)
Mr & Mrs Cocum (parents)
Mr & Mrs Schaverien (parents)
Mr & Mrs Keighley (parents)

Contact Us

Brighton College

Eastern Road

Brighton, BN2 0AL

+44 (0) 1273 704 250

Registered charity number: 307061