Malcolm Paris MBE (A. 1951-58)
Thursday, 08 December 2011

Le Café Anglais proved a spectacular setting for the Pioneers Club London Luncheon where Old Brightonians gathered together on Thursday 8th December. Friends were reunited for our gathering, and many a peel of laughter was to be heard over the wonderful array of photographs brought in.

Particular thanks should go to John Flood (S. 1950-1954) who brought in whole school photographs which were very much enjoyed by all. Thanks should also go to Neville Abraham (B. 1950-1955) who generously hosted the event in the restaurant, and bought a round of drinks for our Old Brightonians upon their arrival. He spoke most eloquently about how the College continues to go from strength to strength not only in size and number but also in the good grades achieved. The time spent over lunch with old friends was truly enjoyed by all, mobile phone numbers swapped and many promises made to reunite again.

"As to a message for the Pioneers Club London Luncheon, all warm good wishes to the lunch party, and great regrets to miss such a generous occasion - it's getting late in the day to have to miss such an occasion, so I hope the Iraq Inquiry can finish in time for any repeat event; and a very merry Christmas and a happy New Year to all of us, in such a wonderful year for Brighton College."
Sir John Chilcot (H/S. 1952-57)

In attendance:
Gerard Ryan (Leconfield 1946-1950)
Mrs Sheila Ryan
John Dougal (School 1946-1951)
Jerome Freedman (Aldrich 1949-1952)
Mrs Louise Freedman
Roger Beasley (Hampden 1949-1955)
Mrs Debra Chalmers
Roger Murphy (Hampden 1954-1957)
Apologies received from
Peter Benfield (Bristol 1950-1951)
Michael Newton (Aldrich 1945-1951)

Michael Hill (Durnford 1948-1953)
Peter Best (Aldrich 1951-1954)
John Flood (School 1950-1954)
Roger Miron (Durnford 1950-1954)
Peter Clarke (Aldrich 1950-1954)
Duncan Morris (Bristol 1952-1956)
Joseph Chappell (Bristol 1951-1956)
David Blake (Bristol 1952-1956)
Roy Enfield (Bristol 1947-1953)
Neville Abraham (Bristol 1950-1955)

Jeremy Miles(Chichester 1951-1956)
Penny Taylor
David Pincus (Durnford 1950-1957)
Mrs Pincus
Tim Loadsman (Leconfield 1951-1957)
Malcolm Paris (Aldrich1951-1958)
Mrs Angela Paris
Jeremy Barrett (Leconfield 1954-1958)
Mrs Daphne Barrett

Professor Roger Mason (Chichester 1956-1959)
Mrs Margaret Mason
Richard Daking (School 1954-1959)
Mrs Richard Daking
Andrew Symonds (Aldrich 1955-1959)
Christopher Davison (Aldrich/Bristol 1953-1959)
Keith Kan (Bristol 1953-1958)
Mrs Kan
David Newman (School 1955-1960)
John Blake (Bristol 1957-1961)

Anthony Arnold-Boakes (Hampden 1957-1962)
Matthew (Logan) Taylor (Hampden 1957-1962)
Mrs Taylor
John Berry (Aldrich 1957-1962)
Mrs John Berry
Peter Lea (Aldrich 1958-1962)
Mrs Jane Lea
Peter Corbett (Bristol 1962-1964)

Nicholas Woods (Hampden 1961-1965)
Mrs Anita Woods
Robin Ormerod (Leconfield 1964-1967)
Mrs Laura Ormerod
Andrew Craig (School 1964-1968)
Christine Glass
Keith Ponder (School 1964-1969)
Mrs Elizabeth Ponder

Michael Bishop (Chichester 1960-1965)
Eric Rayner (School 1934-1938)
Mrs Coral Rayner
Anthony Whitestone (Staff 1971-2006)
Rebecca Findlay

Future Dates:
The Pioneers Club also has the following dates in the diary:
Tuesday 21st February Sandhurst Tour & Luncheon
1030 hrs at Sandhurst for tea/coffee followed by a tour by Peter Miller (C. 1945-49) and a light luncheon in the College. The cost is £25 per head. Cheques should be made payable to Brighton College and sent to the OB Office (Brighton College, Eastern Road, Brighton BN2 0AL)
Saturday 14th April Sussex Downs Walk and Luncheon at The Tollgate Pub
Thursday 10th May Brighton College Tour & Luncheon
Friday 10th August Gravetye Manor Garden Tour & Afternoon Tea

To reserve a place at any of these events please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or telephone 01273 704 250.

Contact Us

Brighton College

Eastern Road

Brighton, BN2 0AL

+44 (0) 1273 704 250

Registered charity number: 307061